Seven areas of learning

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) identifies seven areas of learning that support children’s development from birth to aged five, ultimately ensuring they are well-prepared for their transition to primary school.

These are divided into three prime areas and four specific areas.

Prime Areas

  • Personal, social and emotional development

  • Communication and language

  • Physical development

These vital areas are the foundation to your child’s development. They encourage a curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and equip children with the life skills they need to fulfil their potential.

When children can form successful relationships, communicate effectively and develop resilience, academic progress will naturally follow.

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the world

  • Expressive arts and design

At Freshford Preschool, child-led play and small group activities help develop the prime areas of learning, laying the foundations for children to realise their capabilities within the specific areas.  

Our staff hold weekly planning meetings to discuss children’s progress and identify ideas and interests developing through their play. From these discussions, activities are planned to fuel curiosity and further explore children’s interests. 

Opportunities are provided to encourage children in their progression through all seven areas of learning. Regular individual observations ensure each preschooler has access to activities that both support and challenge.